PM Quote of the Day — Madame de Stael

Politeness is the art of choosing among your thoughts.

Sadly, few of us are able to truly match good thought with good action. Often my first thought or emotion isn’t one I would wish to advertise. When I talk of the “gift of hesitation,” it is especially valuable in these instances.

The darker side of my nature can drive me to think and feel the worst about others, which isn’t exactly healthy for my relations with others. Exercising restraint in tongue and pen prevents me from flaunting the worst of me.

Leave a Reply

