If you’re ever discouraged and about to give up…

New Tampa Bay game plan for eliminating the Red Sox.

New Tampa Bay game plan for eliminating the undead... I mean the Red Sox.

I’ve been struggling for a week with a virus my son brought home from preschool, but it turned out to have an unexpected benefit last night.  My cough and chills woke me up about 30 minutes into my first attempt at falling asleep — at about 1100 PM. 

Yes, I had given up on the Red Sox and would have missed one of the most ridiculous comebacks in history.  I usually stick it out to the bitter end, but not last night.  Luckily, I woke up and just for curiosity’s sake tuned to the ballgame.  While I missed the start of the comeback, I didn’t miss its ending.  Suffice it to say, these aren’t the Red Sox my dad grew up with (luckily, he has lived to see the Curse broken).  I’ll have to check in with him to see if last night did him in!

BTW, when I saw that the comeback had started, a flicker of superstition almost made me turn off the TV.  If you’ve ever had the feeling you’ve jinxed your team, you know that feeling.  That’s nothing, however, compared to ballplayers’ superstitions!  Check out this video from the Boston Globe’s Sox beat writer Amalie Benjamin on how Manny Delcarmen and Daisuke Matsusaka spent the last minutes of Game 5.

Leave a Reply

