Results from my Trust Quotient test

Here’s my Trust Quotient Score (as promised in posts here and here).  I hope this doesn’t mean you all have to watch your back ;-)

Your TQ score is in a normal mid-range, though at the lower end…it typically means you are particularly strong or particularly weak in 1-2 Trust Equation components.  If your score for all components is in the same range, this means that most people will trust someone else somewhat more than they trust you.  If your component scores vary, this means that some people are more inclined to trust you, and other people are less inclined to trust you.

That’s quite an insight: having some variation gives at least some folks a trust component to “latch on to.”  To that end, here’s what the tool said I’m strong in…

Credibility — People tend to believe what you say. This is due to a mixture of traits, probably including:

  • People see you as logical and clear in your thinking and presentation
  • You have strong credentials which people respect
  • You communicate in a way helps people relate to your message
  • You have the ability to demonstrate your expertise, not just talk about it
  • People feel that you speak not only the truth, but the whole truth

I’ve struck-out the one bullet that I’m not so sure about.  Perhaps I’m more aware of this issue, but I’m not sure that I consistently get people to relate to what I’m saying.  My take is that my weakness in “Intimacy” hurts me here, which relates to how I can further leverage this strength…I get to that in another post.

2 Responses

  1. Paul,

    Thanks and congratulations. You’re using the TQ self-assessment in precisely the way it was meant to provide value–by looking at your own internal comparative strengths and weaknesses, and by examining the explanations and suggestions. Your thoughtfulness here seems to me to be an indication of how it is that people come to find you credible.

    I wouldn’t worry too much if I were you about the absolute value of your score vis a vis others. To assess the trustworthiness of another is an inherently subjective matter; to assess others’ assessments of your own trustworthiness adds yet more mirrors to the exercise.

    That doesn’t mean the patterns are meaningless–I suspect there is a predictable percentage of people who over- or under-assess others’ views of themselves. It’s quite possible you’re harder on yourself than others are about you.

    But the useful, meaningful part of the quiz is exactly what you picked up on–how you, Paul Ritchie, tend to lead when it comes to trust–in your case (so you say), credibility. Given your profession, which puts a lot of weight on credibility, that also makes sense.

    By contrast, artistic types are probably going to lead more with intimacy. And so forth.

    Anyway, thank you for visiting, and for picking up on the usefulness of the tool.

    Charles H. Green
    Trusted Advisor Associates
    http://www.trustedadvisor.com/trustquotient

  2. […] Comments Results from my Trus… on How trusted are you?… Tr…Paul Ritchie on Enterprise SW value, […]

Leave a Reply

